Editorial

Dear readers and dear friends of Medaon,

The current issue is devoted to the reception of the Spatial Turn in research on the Holocaust. Alexander Klei and Annika Wienert are the initiators and act as co-editors.

The thematic contributions deal with the relationship of Jewish spaces to the Holocaust. The question of what constitutes Jewish spaces can be answered in different ways: they can be religious, cultural, social, familial, or individual spaces; they can exist physically but also be imaginary; they can have a public or private character, be stationary or mobile. To annihilate these places was a goal of the national socialist extermination policy.

How Jewish places have been altered, relocated, or maintained themselves in the face of German extermination is examined in the four research articles. The contributions span the period from the early anti-Jewish persecutions to contemporary literature. Natasha Gordinsky devotes her text to the remembrance of mass shootings in the Ukraine in post-Soviet German fiction. Jan Lambertz analyses how Jewish cemeteries were dealt with in Nazi Germany and the Federal Republic. Thomas Pekar looks at Jewish exile in Shanghai during World War II. Volker Benkert and Marc Vance retrace the path of the Loewy family from Frankfurt to Phoenix, Arizona.

In the “sources” section, Jonas Stier presents us with the photographic documentation of Jewish cemeteries in Hamburg, Annika Wienert and Niels Gutschow review the general land-use plan for the city of Auschwitz by Hans Stosberg 1943.

Beyond the spatial focus area, the current issue contains more and diverse contributions. Gerdin Jonker provides an inside look at the workings of church and religious community consortia in greater Berlin, and Jacob Görlitz traces Jewish life in Großenhain.

The continuing situation of the COVID-19 pandemic is taken up by Tobias Ebbrecht-Hartmann in his contribution “thoughts on the virtual transformation of places of remembrance”.

In the “biographies of Jewish women” section, Kirsten Heinsohn devotes herself to the life of Eva G. Reichmann. Biographies are also a concern in other areas. Sebastian Elsbach deals with the person and the worldview of Ernst Niekisch, and Grażyna Jurewicz calls on more methodological awareness in Jewish Studies’ biographical research.

In “education”, Janna Petersen introduces the reader to the project Chasak! By the Institut für Neuw Soziale Plastik, while the series “Einblendungen” directs attention to the different forms of writing in relation to German-Jewish film history.

The issue is completed by reviews of works on various aspects and topics of Jewish life in research and education.

We wish to thank the co-editors Alexandra Klei and Annika Wienert for excellent cooperation, for their efforts in the publication process, and, of course, for the great endresult!

Our sincere thanks also go out to the referees as well as to Steffen Schröter of text plus form, Cathleen Bürgelt, Margi Schellenberg, Patricia C. Sutcliffe and Phillip Roth – they took care of copyediting and translating and thereby contributed greatly to the realization of this edition.

The editors of Medaon, May 2021.

Author(s): Redaktion Medaon

Download PDF

Download 2nd PDF

Add to your reference management:

Editorial

Liebe Leserinnen und Leser, liebe Freundinnen und Freunde von Medaon,

diese aktuelle Ausgabe setzt mit dem Schwerpunkt „Jewish Spaces and the Holocaust“ den Fokus auf die Rezeption des Spatial Turn, der „Wende zum Raum“ in der Holocaustforschung. Initiatorinnen und Mitherausgeberinnen sind Alexandra Klei und Annika Wienert.

Die Beiträge im Schwerpunkt befassen sich mit dem Verhältnis jüdischer Räume zum Holocaust. Die Frage danach, was jüdische Räume ausmacht, ist auf vielfältige Weise zu beantworten: sie können religiös, kulturell, gesellschaftlich, familiär oder individuell bestimmt sein; physisch existieren, aber auch in der Imagination verortet sein; sie können öffentlichen oder privaten Charakter haben; ortsgebunden oder beweglich sein. Diese Räume auszulöschen, war auch ein Ziel der nationalsozialistischen Vernichtungspolitik.

Die vier Forschungsartikel untersuchen, wie sich jüdische Räume angesichts der Vernichtungspolitik veränderten, behaupten konnten oder verlagerten. Die Beiträge umfassen den Zeitraum von den frühen antijüdischen Verfolgungen bis zu Gegenwartsliteratur. Konkret widmet sich Natasha Gordinsky der Erinnerung an Massenerschießungen in der Ukraine in post-sowjetischer deutschsprachiger Erzählliteratur. Jan Lambertz analysiert den Umgang mit jüdischen Friedhöfen während des NS und in der BRD, Thomas Pekar widmet sich dem jüdischen Exil in Shanghai während des Zweiten Weltkriegs und Volker Benkert und Marc Vance schließlich zeichnet den Weg der Familie Loewy von Frankfurt am Main nach Phoenix, Arizona, nach.

In der Rubrik Quellen stellt Jonas Stier die fotografische Dokumentation der jüdischen Friedhöfe Hamburgs vor, Annika Wienert und Niels Gutschow besprechen den Generalbebauungsplan der Stadt Auschwitz von Hans Stosberg von 1943.

Neben der Schwerpunktsetzung finden sich noch weitere vielfältige Beiträge in dieser Ausgabe: Gerdien Jonker ermöglicht mit ihrem Beitrag Einblicke in die Arbeitsweise der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Kirchen und Religionsgemeinschaften in Groß-Berlin und Jakob Görlitz begibt sich auf Spurensuche zu jüdischem Leben in Großenhain.

Die anhaltende Situation der COVID-19 Pandemie wird in dem Beitrag „Überlegungen zur virtuellen Transformation von Gedenkstätten“ von Tobias Ebbrecht-Hartmann aufgegriffen.

In der Reihe „Biografien jüdischer Frauen“ widmet sich Kirsten Heinsohn dem Leben von Eva G. Reichmann. Auch an anderer Stelle steht die Auseinandersetzung mit Biografien im Fokus: Sebastian Elsbach setzt sich mit der Person und dem Weltbild von Ernst Niekisch auseinander und Grażyna Jurewicz appelliert zu mehr Methodenbewusstsein in der biografischen Forschungspraxis in den Jüdischen Studien.

In der Rubrik Bildung stellt Janna Petersen das Projekt Chasak! vom Institut für Neue Soziale Plastik vor und die Reihe Einblendungen richtet in dieser Ausgabe den Blick auf die verschiedenen Arten des Schreibens im Zusammenhang mit deutsch-jüdischer Filmgeschichte.

Abgerundet wird auch diese Ausgabe von Rezensionen zu ganz unterschiedlichen Teilaspekten im Themenfeld jüdischen Lebens in Forschung und Bildung.

Wir bedanken uns bei den Mitherausgeberinnen Alexandra Klei und Annika Wienert für die sehr gute und vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit, für alle Mühen im Publikationsprozess und selbstredend natürlich für das schöne Ergebnis!

Herzlich danken möchten wir auch allen Gutachter*innen für ihre Unterstützung sowie Steffen Schröter von text plus form, Cathleen Bürgelt, Margi Schellenberg, Patricia C. Sutcliffe und Phillip Roth – sie haben das Lektorat bzw. die Übersetzungen übernommen und so wesentlich zum Gelingen der Ausgabe beigetragen.

Die Redaktion von Medaon im Mai 2021.

Autor(en): Redaktion Medaon

PDF-Datei herunterladen

2. PDF-Datei herunterladen

Zur Literaturverwaltung hinzufügen: