Editorial

Issue 12 (2018), 22

Dear readers and friends of Medaon,

Without it being planned initially, this issue features several contributions with reference to Israel. Beate Klostermann-Reimers and Ulrike Pilarczyk analyze photographs and letters from the Zionist emigration project ‘Cherut’ near Hameln in the 1920s. Cordula Gdaniec attends to Russian remembrances of the Second World War in today’s Israel. And Johannes Becke questions the reductionist description of the Zionist project as ‘settler colonialism’.

Becke’s text thereby also refers critically to an article in the 20th issue published last spring (Ran Greenstein, „Settler colonialism and indigeneity“). We pointed out one year ago that Greenstein’s text caused controversy within the editorial board. Those of the editors who explicitly did not support the text criticized Greenstein’s scientifically debatable dogmatism and political one-sidedness as well as his essentialist affirmation of Palestinian “indigeneity”.

Klaus Hödl also reacts to an earlier contribution to Medaon. He takes up the debate about the relation of Jewish to “general” historiography, also in issue 20, and argues for abandoning the analytical distinction in favor of a discussion of ‘similarities’. Dieter Langwiesches’ article on the relation of German Jews to educated liberalism also deals with this, in a broad sense, history of relations.

Regional aspects of Jewish history are examined in contributions by Marc Oliver Rieger and Steffen Heidrich: the synagogue at Stavenhagen as a place of remembrance and the demographic development of the Jewish community in Dresden. Marina Sassenberg dignifies the historian Selma Stern. Other contributions and reviews top off the issue.

We could not have made this issue without the support of our reviewers. This time, corrections and translations were made by Cathleen Bürgelt, Dan Davies, Maria Diemling, Christian Kurmann, Phillip Roth, Marcus Schaub, Patricia C. Sutcliffe and Steffen Schröter from text plus form – we want to thank them very much!

The editors’ office of Medaon, spring 2018.

Author(s): Redaktion Medaon 

Download PDF

Download 2nd PDF

Add to your reference management:

Editorial

Editorial 12 (2018), 22

Liebe Leserinnen und Leser, liebe Freundinnen und Freunde von Medaon,

ohne das so geplant zu haben, finden sich in dieser Ausgabe gleich mehrere Beiträge mit Bezug zum gerade seinen 70. Gründungsjahrestag feiernden Staat Israel. Beate Klostermann-Reimers und Ulrike Pilarczyk analysieren Fotos und Briefe aus dem zionistischen Auswanderungsprojekt ‚Cherut‘ bei Hameln in den 1920er Jahren. Cordula Gdaniec widmet sich russischen Weltkriegserinnerungen im heutigen Israel. Und Johannes Becke stellt die reduktionistische Beschreibung des zionistischen Projekts als ‚Siedler-Kolonialismus‘ in Frage.

Beckes Essay bezieht sich damit auch kritisch auf einen Artikel in der Ausgabe 20 von letztem Frühjahr (Ran Greensteins „Settler colonialism and indigeneity“). Wir hatten vor einem Jahr darauf hingewiesen, dass Greensteins Text für kontroverse Diskussionen in der Redaktion gesorgt hatte. Jener Teil der Redaktion, der explizit nicht hinter dem Text steht, hatte daran ebenso seine wissenschaftlich fragwürdige Dogmatik und politische Einseitigkeit kritisiert wie seine an völkische Konzepte erinnernde, essenzialistische Affirmation palästinensischer „Indigenität“.

Auch der Beitrag von Klaus Hödl reagiert auf einen früheren Beitrag in Medaon. Er greift die Debatte um das Verhältnis von jüdischer zu „allgemeiner“ Geschichtsschreibung, ebenfalls in Nummer 20, erneut auf und argumentiert dafür, die analytische Trennung zugunsten der Diskussion von ‚Ähnlichkeiten‘ aufzuheben. Mit dieser Beziehungsgeschichte im weiteren Sinne beschäftigt sich auch der Artikel von Dieter Langewiesche zum Verhältnis des deutschen Judentums zum Bildungsliberalismus.

Regionale Aspekte jüdischer Geschichte werden in den Beiträgen von Marc Oliver Rieger und Steffen Heidrich beleuchtet: die Synagoge in Stavenhagen als Erinnerungsort und die demographische Entwicklung der jüdischen Gemeinde in Dresden. Marina Sassenberg würdigt die Historikerin Selma Stern. Weitere Einzelbeiträge und Rezensionen runden auch diese Ausgabe ab.

Die Fertigstellung dieses Hefts wäre ohne die Unterstützung aller Gutachterinnen und Gutachter nicht zustande gekommen. Die Korrekturen bzw. Übersetzungen übernahmen diesmal Cathleen Bürgelt, Dan Davies, Maria Diemling, Christian Kurmann, Phillip Roth, Marcus Schaub, Patricia C. Sutcliffe und Steffen Schröter von text plus form – ihnen allen danken wir herzlich!

Die Redaktion von Medaon im Mai 2018.

Autor(en): Redaktion Medaon 

PDF-Datei herunterladen

2. PDF-Datei herunterladen

Zur Literaturverwaltung hinzufügen: